Scottish haggis producers are reporting a surge in sales in the vegetarian version of their products.
According to iNews Leading haggis manufacturer, Macsween recently debuted its vegan haggis in the United States. Traditional haggis has been banned in the US since 1971. Haggis has been traditionally made with animal ingredients such as sheep’s liver and lungs. The new vegan version has been renamed as “Scottish Veggie Crumble”. It is currently available in New Jersey, New York, and Connecticut. James Macsween has stated that he hopes to capitalize on the rise in demand for vegan alternatives to traditional meat dishes. “We’ve just taken a recipe that we know sells really well, internationalized it by not calling it ‘haggis’ and changed the packaging, making it compliant with US regulations,” Macsween told iNews. “The popularity of people eating less meat is really starting to take hold in the UK. And the meat-free trend that we’re seeing in the UK is far more established in the US.” Macsween’s father created the vegan haggis in 1984 using oats, kidney beans, carrots, rutabaga, mushrooms, lentils, and pumpkin and sunflower seeds.
This is traditionally eaten by Scotts hich Scots on Burns Night (January 25).